Allied Driving Instructors

Call 087 6697076 NOW!


Levels of observation / Blind spots

Posted on 19 June 2012, under the category By Darragh Dunne ADIDriving Tips

A ‘blind spot’ is anywhere you can’t see at the moment. You will frequently turn your head to check various blind spots.

It could be said that there are three levels of observation:

1. Normal Driving. Here you will be driving along looking well ahead up the road, so you can react to hazards early. You will also be checking your mirrors frequently and giving quick, little, glances at side roads etc, so you know what is going on around you.

2. Driving Manouvers, for example; junctions and lane changes. Check mirrors before and after. Turning your head perhaps 90′ to look out the windows at the lane you are moving into (or through).

3. Clutch Manouvers, for example; turnabouts, reversing around corners and moving off. Lots of use of the mirrors and more importantly lots of observation out the windows sometimes including the ones behind you.

By Darragh Dunne, ADI.

Comments are closed.